Prince William County, Virginia — DWI Criminal Defense Attorney Case Result

A vehicle collision where the driver was accused of striking multiple parked cars and was charged with DWI 2nd Offense within 5-10 years was REDUCED to a DWI 1st Offense.  The driver walked away from Court with no jail time and was granted a restricted license during the license suspension period imposed by the Court.  Had the driver been convicted of DWI 2nd within 5-10 years (as the driver was originally charged), the penalty imposed would have been confinement in jail for not less than one month, with ten days of such confinement being the mandatory minimum sentence.  The driver’s license also would have been revoked for 3 years, and the driver would not have been eligible to apply for a restricted license for AT LEAST 4 months after the date of conviction.

Read more about the penalties for DWI convictions under the Virginia Code here: § 18.2-270. Penalty for driving while intoxicated; subsequent offense; prior conviction (